§ 1604.3

40 CFR Ch. VI (7–1–23 Edition)

Owner or operator means any person or entity who owns, leases, operates, controls, or supervises a stationary source.

Property damage means damage to or the destruction of tangible public or private property, including loss of use of that property.

Regulated substance means any substance listed pursuant to the authority of 42 U.S.C. 7412(r)(3).

Serious injury means any injury or illness that results in death or inpatient hospitalization.

Stationary source means any buildings, structures, equipment, installations, or substance-emitting stationary activities which belong to the same industrial group, which are located on one or more contiguous properties, which are under the control of the same person (or persons under common control), and from which an accidental release may occur.

Substantial property damage means estimated property damage at or outside the stationary source equal to or greater than \$1,000,000.

§1604.3 Reporting an accidental release.

(a) The owner or operator of a stationary source must report in accordance with paragraph (b) or (c) of this section, any accidental release resulting in a fatality, serious injury, or substantial property damage.

(b) If the owner or operator has submitted a report to the National Response Center (NRC) pursuant to 40 CFR 302.6, the CSB reporting requirement may be satisfied by submitting the NRC identification number to the CSB within 30 minutes of submitting a report to the NRC.

(c) If the owner or operator has not submitted a report to the NRC and notified the CSB under paragraph (b) of this section, the owner/operator must submit a report directly to the CSB within eight hours of the accidental release and must include the required information listed in §1604.4. A report may be made by email to: *report@csb.gov*, or by telephone at 202– 261–7600.

(d) For the purpose of efficiency, multiple owner/operators may agree in advance or at the time of release to a single, consolidated report on behalf of one or more parties who are responsible for reporting an accidental release from a stationary source. However, any consolidated report must include all pertinent information required under § 1604.4.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) through (d) of this section, an owner or operator of a stationary source, without penalty, may revise and/or update information reported to the NRC or CSB by sending a notification with revisions by email to: report@csb.gov, or by correspondence to: Chemical Safety Board (CSB) 1750 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Suite 910, Washington, DC 20006, within 30 days following the submission of a report to the NRC or CSB. If applicable, the notification must reference the original NRC identification number. No update or revisions should be sent to the NRC. In addition to the opportunity to revise and/or update information within 30 days, an owner or operator may also submit a revised report to the Board within 60 additional days if the submitter explains why the revised report could not have been submitted within the first 30 days.

§1604.4 Information required in an accidental release report.

The report required under §1604.3(c) must include the following information regarding an accidental release as applicable:

(a) The name of, and contact information for, the owner/operator;

(b) The name of, and contact information for, the person making the report;

(c) The location information and facility identifier;

(d) The approximate time of the accidental release;

(e) A brief description of the accidental release;

(f) An indication whether one or more of the following has occurred:

(1) Fire;

(2) Explosion;

(4) Serious injury; or

(5) Property damage;

(g) The name of the material(s) involved in the accidental release, the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) number(s), or other appropriate identifiers;

⁽³⁾ Death;