For further information concerning this meeting, contact: Timothy J. Galpin, Assistant for CNO Executive Panel Management, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 601, Alexandria, VA 22302-0268, Phone: (703) 756-1205.

Dated: April 18, 1995

L. R. McNees,

LCDR, JAGC, USN, Federal Register Liaison

Officer.

[FR Doc. 95–10342 Filed 4–26–95; 8:45 am]

BILLING CODE 3810-FF-F

#### DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

[CFDA No.: 84.293A]

## Foreign Language Assistance Grants; Notice Inviting Applications for New Awards for Fiscal Year (FY) 1995

Purpose of Program: The purpose of this program is to provide grants to pay for the Federal share of the cost of innovative model programs providing for the establishment, improvement or expansion of foreign language study for elementary and secondary school students

Eligible Applicants: State educational agencies and local educational agencies.

Deadline for Transmittal of Applications: June 5, 1995.

Deadline for Intergovernmental Review: August 4, 1995.

*Applications Available:* April 27, 1995.

Available Funds: \$7,900,000. Estimated Range of Awards: \$150,000–\$200,000.

Estimated Average Size of Awards: \$175,000.

Estimated Number of Awards: 45.

**Note:** The Department is not bound by any estimates in this notice.

Project Period: 36 months. Applicable Regulations: The Education Department General Administrative Regulations (EDGAR) in 34 CFR parts 75, 77, 79, 80, 81, 82, and 85.

#### SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Part B of Title VII of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, as amended (the Act) authorizes two grant programs, the Foreign Language Assistance Grants program and the Elementary School Incentive Grants program. Appropriations for these two programs are authorized by section 7206 of the Act. Section 7203(c)(3) of the Act provides that at least 75 percent of the funds appropriated under section 7206 shall be used for the expansion of foreign language learning in elementary grades. The Secretary, therefore, in

selecting applicants under this program and the Elementary School Incentive Grants program will ensure that the requirement in section 7203(c)(3) on the use of funds appropriated under section 7206 is met. The Secretary does not fund projects that propose Native American languages.

## **Priority**

The competitive priority in the notice of final priority for this program, as published elsewhere in this issue of the **Federal Register**, applies to this competition. This competitive priority relates to projects that focus on less commonly taught languages.

## Selection Criteria

In evaluating applications for grants under this program, the Secretary uses the selection criteria in 34 CFR 75.210.

The regulations in 34 CFR 75.210 provide that the Secretary may award up to 100 points for the selection criteria, including a reserved 15 points. For this competition, the Secretary distributes the 15 points as follows:

Meeting the purpose of the authorizing statute (34 CFR 210 (b)(1)). Seven points are added to this criterion for a possible total of 37 points.

Plan of operation (34 CFR 75.210(b)(3)). Five points are added to this criterion for a possible total of 20 points.

Evaluation plan (34 CFR 75.210(b)(6)). Three points are added to this criterion for a possible total of 8 points.

For Applications or Information Contact: Ursula Lord, U.S. Department of Education, 600 Independence Avenue, SW., Room 5090, Switzer Building, Washington, D.C. 20202–6510. Telephone: Ursula Lord (202) 205–5709. Individuals who use a telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD) may call the Federal Information Relay Service (FIRS) at 1–800–877–8339 between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m., Eastern time, Monday through Friday.

Information about the Department's funding opportunities, including copies of application notices for discretionary grant competitions, can be viewed on the Department's electronic bulletin board (ED Board), telephone (202) 260–9950; or on the Bulletins, and Press Releases). However, the official application notice for a discretionary grant competition is the notice published in the **Federal Register**.

Program Authority: 20 U.S.C. 7512-7514.

Dated: April 11, 1995.

#### Eugene E. Garcia,

Director, Office of Bilingual Education and Minority Languages Affairs.

[FR Doc. 95–10322 Filed 4–26–95; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 4000–01–P

## **DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY**

# Advisory Committee on External Regulation of Department of Energy Nuclear Safety

**AGENCY:** Department of Energy. **ACTION:** Notice of open meeting.

SUMMARY: Pursuant to the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. 92–463, 86 Stat. 770), notice is hereby given of the third meeting of the Advisory Committee on External Regulation of Department of Energy Nuclear Safety.

DATES AND TIMES: The committee session will begin at 8:00 am Monday May 15, 1995 with the public comment session to begin at 7:00 pm. The Tuesday, May 16, 1995, session will begin at 7:30 am and adjourn at 9:30 am at which time the Committee will tour select Department of Energy Hanford facilities. ADDRESSES: Red Lion Inn/Hanford House, 802 George Washington Way, Richland, WA 99352.

# FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:

Tom Isaacs, Executive Director, Advisory Committee on External Regulation of Department of Energy Nuclear Safety, 1726 M Street, NW, Suite 401, Washington, DC 20036, (202) 254–3826.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The purpose of the Committee is to provide the Secretary of Energy, the White House Council on Environmental Quality, and the Office of Management and Budget with advice, information, and recommendations on how new and existing Department of Energy (DOE) facilities and operations, except those operations covered under Executive Order 12344 (Naval Propulsion Program), might best be regulated with regard to nuclear safety. The Department currently self-regulates many aspects of nuclear safety, pursuant to the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended. The Committee consists of 25 members drawn from Federal and State government and the private sector, and is co-chaired by John F. Ahearne, Executive Director of Sigma Xi and Gerard F. Scannell, President of the National Safety Council. Members were chosen with environment, safety, and health backgrounds, balanced to represent different public, Federal, state,