(B) Self-Regulatory Organization's Statement on Burden on Competition

NSCC does not believe that the proposed rule change will have an impact on or impose a burden on competition.

(C) Self-Regulatory Organization's Statement on Comments on the Proposed Rule Change Received from Members, Participants, or Others

No written comments relating to the proposed rule change have been solicited or received. NSCC will notify the Commission of any written comments received by NSCC.

III. Date of Effectiveness of the Proposed Rule Change and Timing for Commission Action

Within thirty-five days of the date of publication of this notice in the **Federal Register** or within such longer period (i) as the Commission may designate up to ninety days of such date if it finds such longer period to be appropriate and publishes its reasons for so finding or (ii) as to which the self-regulatory organization consents, the Commission will:

(A) By order approve such proposed rule change; or

(B) institute proceedings to determine whether the proposed rule change should be disapproved.

IV. Solicitation of Comments

Interested persons are invited to submit written data, views, and arguments concerning the foregoing. Persons making written submissions should file six copies thereof with the Secretary, Securities and Exchange Commission, 450 Fifth Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20549. Copies of the submission, all subsequent amendments, all written statements with respect to the proposed rule change that are filed with the Commission, and all written communications relating to the proposed rule change between the Commission and any person, other than those that may be withheld from the public in accordance with the provisions of 5 U.S.C. 552, will be available for inspection and copying in the Commission's Public Reference Room in Washington, D.C. Copies of such filing will also be available for inspection and copying at the principal office of NSCC. All submissions should refer to File No. SR-NSCC-97-03 and should be submitted by April 30, 1997.

For the Commission by the Division of Market Regulation, pursuant to delegated authority.

Margaret H. McFarland,

Deputy Secretary. [FR Doc. 97–9005 Filed 4–8–97; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 8010–01–M

SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

[Declaration of Disaster #2940]

State of Illinois

As a result of the President's major disaster declaration on March 21, 1997, I find that Alexander, Gallatin, Hardin, Massac, and Pope Counties in the State of Illinois constitute a disaster area due to damages caused by severe storms and flooding beginning on March 1 and continuing. Applications for loans for physical damages may be filed until the close of business on May 20, 1997, and for loans for economic injury until the close of business on December 22, 1997 at the address listed below or other locally announced locations: U.S. Small Business Administration, Disaster Area 1 Office, 360 Rainbow Blvd., South 3rd Floor, Niagara Falls, NY 14303.

In addition, applications for economic injury loans from small businesses located in the following contiguous counties may be filed until the specified date at the above location: Hamilton, Johnson, Pulaski, Saline, Union, White, and Williamson in Illinois; Cape Girardeau, Mississippi, and Scott in Missouri. Any counties contiguous to the above-named primary counties and not listed herein have been covered under a separate declaration for the same occurrence.

Interest rates are:

	Percent
For Physical Damage: Homeowners With Credit Avail-	
able Elsewhere Homeowners Without Credit	7.625
Available Elsewhere Businesses With Credit Avail-	3.875
able Elsewhere Businesses And Non-Profit Or-	8.000
ganizations Without Credit Available Elsewhere Others (Including Non-Profit Or-	4.000
ganizations) With Credti Available Elsewhere For Economic Injury: Businesses And Small Agricul-	7.250
tural Cooperatives Without Credit Available Elsewhere	4.000

The number assigned to this disaster for physical damage is 294006. For economic injury the numbers are 944300 for Illinois and 944400 for Missouri. (Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Program Nos. 59002 and 59008) Dated: March 26, 1997.

Bernard Kulik.

Associate Administrator for Disaster Assistance. [FR Doc. 97–8980 Filed 4–8–97; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 8025–01–P

SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

[Declaration of Disaster #2933, Amdt. 2]

Commonwealth of Kentucky

In accordance with a notice from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, dated March 21, 1997, the above-numbered Declaration is hereby amended to include the Counties of Ballard, Carlisle, Estill, Fulton, Grayson, Hart, Hickman, Marshall, Monroe, Simpson, Todd, and Warren in the Commonwealth of Kentucky a disaster area due to damages caused by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on March 1, 1997 and continuing.

In addition, applications for economic injury loans from small businesses located in the following contiguous counties may be filed until the specified date at the previously designated location: Allen, Barren, Calloway, Cumberland, Jackson, and Metcalfe in the Commonwealth of Kentucky; Alexander County in the State of Illinois, and Clay County in the State of Tennessee. Any counties contiguous to the above-named primary counties and not listed herein have been covered under a separate declaration for the same occurrence.

The numbers assigned to this disaster for economic injury are 944500 for Tennessee, and 943900 for Illinois.

(Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Program Nos. 59002 and 59008.)

Dated: March 25, 1997.

Bernard Kulik,

Dereent

- 75 Associate Administrator for Disaster Assistance.
- 00 [FR Doc. 97–8981 Filed 4–8–97; 8:45 am] BILLING CODE 8025–01–P

SMALL BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION

[Declaration of Disaster Loan Area #2941]

Massachusetts; (And Contiguous Counties in Connecticut, New York and Vermont)

Berkshire County and the contiguous counties of Franklin, Hampden, and Hampshire in Massachusetts; Litchfield County in Connecticut, Dutchess, Columbia and Rennselear Counties in